Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 7,660 Ratings

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By BME7550
    Fabulous! So sad it’s over. It will stick with me for a long time. The book is comforting, heartfelt and true to regional character of the place and people. So many stories within the story keeps the pages turning to the next adventure and outcome. Hard to believe this beautiful story is this authors first fiction. I hope she has more to come.
  • Absolutely Perfect!!!

    5
    By PatnTara
    My wife and I were addicted to this book. The author writes with magnificent detail and descriptions. We used it while we were driving and never wanted to get home. “Take the long way” Slow down!” She would tell me on the way home. I highly recommend this book and was sad when it ended. The audio version was read/acted perfectly.
  • Beautiful and Moving

    5
    By IcedStarLight
    Loved this book! Heartbreaking and heart pounding moments - I can see this as a 10 part mini series on Netflix, or a movie. Enjoyed the characters and the environment. Great read.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    1
    By msg214
    A must read! From the moment I started this book it was so hard to stop! I have not enjoyed a book as much as this one in a very long time! So sad it is over! It is written so beautifully- you will fall in love with Kaya!!!!
  • Couldn’t put down

    5
    By EmilyH2
    This was one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Truly captivating.
  • Perfect!

    5
    By Sarita2878
    By far one of the best books I’ve read in a long time! I definitely wasn’t expecting the ending to be as it was! I couldn’t put it down!
  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By contented social circle girl
    Fascinating till the very end. There were no boring parts in the middle as in so many novels.
  • Beautiful beautiful

    5
    By Tkme2Paris
    This story is haunting and lovely. Beautifully told story of a little girl who loses her family and embraces nature. Loved every turn of the page.
  • Delia Owens is a Heart Stealing Mastermind.

    5
    By Delia Owen's new fan
    This book will literally tear your heart out and stomp all over it. Even during parts of the book that were fulfilling, you can’t help but feel your heart aching the entire time.
  • Kyla’s achievements challenge the suspension of disbelief but make her more lovable

    5
    By waldhaus1
    I had heard the praise for this book and can only say I agree completely. It is both deeply human and moving and mind expanding. While it is a series of flashbacks to an earlier time in South Carolina it portrays many characters in believable detail while maintaining a focus on love of nature and wild things. It never becomes preachy. Instead it remains a compelling story. It even includes an interesting courtroom drama. Kyla the central protagonist is nearly self raised yet she manages to make herself a leading expert on the wildlife of her beloved marsh country. Because she is so endearing the reader routes for her growing abilities and gladly accepts them. They, the author and Kyla, leave me wanting to know more about the marsh country.